Forgiveness does not change the past but it does enlarge the future. “NOW WHAT?” Paul Boese

When I read this explanation of forgiveness it gives me hope.  As I said before you forgive for you. “NOW WHAT?”

About "NowWhat?"

Stunningly beautiful life coach who provides invaluable insight and humor into the mundane lives of millions.
This entry was posted in Forgiveness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Forgiveness does not change the past but it does enlarge the future. “NOW WHAT?” Paul Boese

  1. thedermatologistswife says:

    Call me bitter, but not everything is forgivable. I have a particular talent for looking at things through other people’s eyes and so I can forgive most and that’s as it should be. But I also believe that making excuses for other folks behaviors can be a trap. That’s what keeps people in abusive relationships or just unhealthy ones. At some point we have to do what’s right for ourselves. It takes some wisdom to know the difference between forgiveness that’s freeing and forgiveness that’s a trap. Some things are are just plain unforgivable. Attacks of any kind on my kids, I can’t forgive. The special education director who preferred to call me a bad mother rather provide services to my severely autistic and language-disordered son, I will hate until the day I die when I allow myself to think about her — I just choose not to think about her –may she rot in hell. So much for forgiveness.

    • "NowWhat?" says:

      Now that you got that out do you feel better? What did it change? You know your a terrific mother. When our children are attacked that’s a whole other story. One that I did not think about in forgiveness. The more I think about it you need to lead by example and just ignore what she had to say and enjoy your family. That’s the best revenge. Can you imagine having to go through life being her. Pray for her, she’s the one who needs help. How happy can she be if she is not capable of doing her job gracefully. As a director she should have gone to any length to help your child. Thank G-D your child has you as his advocate. Good luck, “NOW WHAT?”

    • bernadettemarie says:

      when it comes to my children forgiveness takes lots of thinking and time….example neighbor came on my property starting yelling at all the kids playing on my yard threatened to take down my baskrtball court cause they played in street… safely..kids are respectful teenage atheletic kids….then he came to my door and yelled at me…..yell at my kids and their friends and come on my property then prepare for mother bear to pop out her screaming roar unyeilding scream till he gets off my property as he continued to threatened me but he will never come on my property again…. mother bear attck mode was set in place…..and support of cops helped and danger neighbor revealed…he also told me I was the worse mom in the world what an asshole like thedirector……your mother bear came out and I know you found answers for your son sorry to hear of your struggles with son.. Mother bear/mother instincts always win

  2. bernadettemarie says:

    PS do i need to forgive him for threatening us nooooo did i do anything wrong no……………told kids not to waste any more time on asshole neighbor can i acall him an asshole yesssssssssssssssss did not mention his name sometimes i wonder do i need to forgive someon or just move till get the right help like I am sure you did and i did by calling cops

  3. KarenR says:

    Hi Thermologyswife…I get it. Totally. I have written about my ex and about my child. Actually asking really how the hell I am supposed to forgive when the constant torture keeps going on and on.
    The only thing I can say that may help in regards to the ignorant teacher is that maybe think about it like this…she has the power over you. Take it back…because it was so disturbing and hit so low-You have the choice to decide to NOT let it bother you any more. Doe. Waste of energy.
    Not trying to give you advice, but I have to do this with my ex all the time-otherwise my day just is ruined.

  4. RFuller says:

    I don’t have kids so I can’t relate to how I would feel if my kids were attacked, but I have always found this to be true Every dog has their day…..and karma is a B___CH. It may take a while for the world to balance things out but it does happen.

    • "NowWhat?" says:

      My youngest son was bullied by teachers, children in the school and a special adult that comes to my mind quickly. My son had choices, 1. To let these people bother him. 2. Do well in school. 3. Try his hardest when it came to sports. He chose the above. Today he is a happy, healthy, wise young man. He proved, with hard work and determination you can accomplish anything. Because someone say’s something it does not make it true. It means they had an opinion or are just judging. Wonder how the adult ,teacher, and kids are doing today? “NOW WHAT?”

  5. stacy says:

    How does one forgive? Are there steps that we can follow or do we just have to dig deep from within? Trouble seems to be that you need to find it and then KEEP it!
    Hard to do when the pain in the ass we are supposed to forgive keeps rearing his/her ugly head. I would love to get some more insight to help a friend who really struggles with this and has every right to HATE the person antagonizing her…does it all boil down to choices?

    • "NowWhat?" says:

      The opposite of love is not hate. Its indifference. The energy it takes to hate let’s the other person know they got to you. Stop reacting the way you normally would and see what happens. “NOW WHAT?”

  6. stacy says:

    Just went back and read post from the day before and did find some good insight from you all on how to handle the forgiveness issue, so basically disregard my previous note and let’s move along to the next issue and continue to solve the worlds problems one day at a time!

Leave a comment